This qualification develops practical teaching skills and, through the optional units, prepares teachers to work in a wide range of contexts. It requires observation and assessment of practice.

It can meet the needs of a range of trainee teachers, including:

  • individuals who are not currently teaching and training but who can meet the practice requirements, including the observed and assessed practice requirements, of the qualification
  • individuals who are currently teaching and training (including those who have just begun teaching and training) who can meet the practice requirements, including the observed and assessed practice requirements, of the qualification
  • individuals currently working as Assessors who wish to achieve a teaching qualification.

The objective of this qualification is to confirm occupational competence in a teaching role within the workplace.

Entry guidance

All trainee teachers joining this qualification programme should undertake an initial assessment of skills in English, mathematics, and ICT.

learners should be 19 or over to undertake the qualification.

Achieving this qualification

To be awarded the LMA Level 3 Diploma in Education and Training, learners must achieve 90 credit points.

This qualification consists of 15 mandatory units

Mandatory units:

  • Unit 01 - Understanding roles, responsibilities and relationships in education and training (6 credits)
  • Unit 02 - Delivering education and training (6 credits)
  • Unit 03 - Using resources for education and training (6 credits)
  • Unit 04 - bAssessing learners in education and training (6 credits)
  • Unit 05 - Planning to meet the needs of learners in education and training (6 credits)
  • Unit 06 - Develop and prepare resources for learning and development (6 credits)
  • Unit 07 - Develop learning and development programmes (6 credits)
  • Unit 08 - Engage learners in the learning and development process (6 credits)
  • Unit 09 - Identify individual learning and development needs (6 credits)
  • Unit 10 - Equality and diversity (6 credits)
  • Unit 11 - Evaluating learning programmes (6 credits)
  • Unit 12 - Preparing for the coaching role (6 credits)
  • Unit 13 - Preparing for the mentoring role (6 credits)
  • Unit 14 - Preparing for the personal tutoring role (6 credits)
  • Unit 15 - Managing behaviours in a learning environment (6 credits)
Total Qualification Time (TQT) - 360
Guided Learning Hours (GLH) - 150

Resource requirements

It’s expected that resources needed to support delivery and assessment are of industry standard.

LMA expects learners to have access to appropriate IT and research facilities, including relevant trade publications and educational journals. Centres will also need to have appropriately resourced teaching rooms and facilities. Learners must have access to a range of individuals and groups as needed to enable them to evidence their teaching practice requirements.

How the qualification is assessed

Assessment is the process of measuring a candidate’s skill, knowledge and understanding against the standards set in a qualification. The Level 2 Certificate in Photography is internally assessed.

Internal assessment

Each candidate must create a portfolio of evidence which demonstrates achievement of all the learning outcomes and assessment criteria associated with each unit. On completion of each unit candidates must declare that the work produced is their own. The Assessor must countersign this. Examples of suitable evidence for the portfolio for each unit are provided in the Handbook.

The main pieces of evidence for the portfolio could include (in no particular order):

Assessor observation – completed observational checklists and related action plans

  • witness testimony
  • candidate’s proof of work
  • worksheets
  • assignments/projects/reports
  • record of professional discussion
  • record of oral and written questioning
  • candidate and peer reports
  • Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)


Moderation is the process by which we confirm that assessment decisions in centres are:

We do this through:

external moderation – which we carry out through our External Moderators who, by supporting you, will make sure that assessments meet nationally agreed standards and that your quality assurance systems continue to meet our centre approval criteria.